Press Release: A Time for Repealing

Jul 22, 2010

153 Republicans Embrace Obamacare Repeal Effort

Washington, D.C. - "We're not going back," Speaker Nancy Pelosi declared yesterday when asked about the government's hostile takeover of our health care system. Fortunately, the American people and a growing number of Congressional Representatives disagree with Nancy Pelosi. Since Heritage Action for America launched its campaign to repeal Obamacare in June, 153 Republicans have signed onto Discharge Petition #11, which would force the U.S. House to vote on repealing the harmfully misguided law.

"Nancy Pelosi does not speak for the American people," Heritage Action CEO Michael A. Needham said. "Premiums are rising. The deficit is increasing. Coverage is disappearing. That is why 153 Members of Congress, from all across the country, are actively trying to repeal Obamacare. I fully expect every Member who opposed Obamacare - both Republicans and Democrats - to sign Discharge Petition #11."

Heritage Action praises the Members who took bold, decisive action on behalf of the majority of Americans who want the law repealed.

"I am grateful to Chairman Tom Price (R-GA) and The Republican Study Committee for their efforts," Needham continued. "They have worked tirelessly to build support within the Republican caucus and among conservative grassroots groups."

The following Members have signed Discharge Petition #11:

Robert B. Aderholt (R-Alabama)
Spencer Bachus (R-Alabama)
Jo Bonner (R-Alabama)
Parker Griffith (R-Alabama)
Mike Rogers (R-Alabama)
Jeff Flake (R-Arizona)
Trent Franks (R-Arizona)
John B. Shadegg (R-Arizona)
John Boozman (R-Arkansas)
Brian P. Bilbray (R-California)
Mary Bono Mack (R-California)
Ken Calvert (R-California)
John Campbell (R-California)
David Dreier (R-California)
Elton Gallegly (R-California)
Wally Herger (R-California)
Duncan Hunter (R-California)
Darrell E. Issa (R-California)
Jerry Lewis (R-California)
Daniel E. Lungren (R-California)
Kevin McCarthy (R-California)
Howard P. ``Buck'' McKeon (R-California)
Tom McClintock (R-California)
Gary G. Miller (R-California)
Devin Nunes (R-California)
George Radanovich (R-California)
Dana Rohrabacher (R-California)
Edward R. Royce (R-California)
Mike Coffman (R-Colorado)
Doug Lamborn (R-Colorado)
Gus M. Bilirakis (R-Florida)
Vern Buchanan (R-Florida)
Ander Crenshaw (R-Florida)
Jeff Miller (R-Florida)
Connie Mack (R-Florida)
John L. Mica (R-Florida)
Bill Posey (R-Florida)
Thomas J. Rooney (R-Florida)
Cliff Stearns (R-Florida)
C. W. Bill Young (R-Florida)
Paul C. Broun (R-Georgia)
Phil Gingrey (R-Georgia)
Tom Graves (R-Georgia)
Jack Kingston (R-Georgia)
John Linder (R-Georgia)
Tom Price (R-Georgia)
Lynn A. Westmoreland (R-Georgia)
Charles K. Djou (R-Hawaii)
Michael K. Simpson (R-Idaho)
Judy Biggert (R-Illinois)
Timothy V. Johnson (R-Illinois)
Donald A. Manzullo (R-Illinois)
Peter J. Roskam (R-Illinois)
Aaron Schock (R-Illinois)
John Shimkus (R-Illinois)
Dan Burton (R-Indiana)
Mike Pence (R-Indiana)
Tom Latham (R-Iowa)
Steve King (R-Iowa)
Lynn Jenkins (R-Kansas)
Jerry Moran (R-Kansas)
Todd Tiahrt (R-Kansas)
Geoff Davis (R-Kentucky)
Brett Guthrie (R-Kentucky)
Harold Rogers (R-Kentucky)
Ed Whitfield (R-Kentucky)
Rodney Alexander (R-Louisiana)
Bill Cassidy (R-Louisiana)
John Fleming (R-Louisiana)
Steve Scalise (R-Louisiana)
Roscoe G. Bartlett (R-Maryland)
Vernon J. Ehlers (R-Michigan)
Peter Hoekstra (R-Michigan)
Thaddeus G. McCotter (R-Michigan)
Candice S. Miller (R-Michigan)
Fred Upton (R-Michigan)
Michele Bachmann (R-Minnesota)
John Kline (R-Minnesota)
Erik Paulsen (R-Minnesota)
Gregg Harper (R-Mississippi)
W. Todd Akin (R-Missouri)
Roy Blunt (R-Missouri)
Jo Ann Emerson (R-Missouri)
Sam Graves (R-Missouri)
Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-Missouri)
Denny Rehberg (R-Montana)
Jeff Fortenberry (R-Nebraska)
Adrian Smith (R-Nebraska)
Lee Terry (R-Nebraska)
Rodney P. Frelinghuysen (R-New Jersey)
Scott Garrett (R-New Jersey)
Leonard Lance (R-New Jersey)
Frank A. LoBiondo (R-New Jersey)
Christopher H. Smith (R-New Jersey)
Christopher John Lee (R-New York)
Howard Coble (R-North Carolina)
Virginia Foxx (R-North Carolina)
Walter B. Jones (R-North Carolina)
Patrick T. McHenry (R-North Carolina)
Sue Wilkins Myrick (R-North Carolina)
Steve Austria (R-Ohio)
John A. Boehner (R-Ohio)
Jim Jordan (R-Ohio)
Robert E. Latta (R-Ohio)
Jean Schmidt (R-Ohio)
Michael R. Turner (R-Ohio)
Tom Cole (R-Oklahoma)
Mary Fallin (R-Oklahoma)
Frank D. Lucas (R-Oklahoma)
John Sullivan (R-Oklahoma)
Greg Walden (R-Oregon)
Glenn Thompson (R-Pennsylvania)
Joseph R. Pitts (R-Pennsylvania)
Todd Russell Platts (R-Pennsylvania)
Bill Shuster (R-Pennsylvania)
J. Gresham Barrett (R-South Carolina)
Henry E. Brown, Jr. (R-South Carolina)
Bob Inglis (R-South Carolina)
Joe Wilson (R-South Carolina)
Marsha Blackburn (R-Tennessee)
John J. Duncan, Jr. (R-Tennessee)
David P. Roe (R-Tennessee)
Zach Wamp (R-Tennessee)
Kevin Brady (R-Texas)
Michael C. Burgess (R-Texas)
John R. Carter (R-Texas)
K. Michael Conaway (R-Texas)
John Abney Culberson (R-Texas)
Louie Gohmert (R-Texas)
Kay Granger (R-Texas)
Ralph M. Hall (R-Texas)
Jeb Hensarling (R-Texas)
Sam Johnson (R-Texas)
Kenny Marchant (R-Texas)
Michael T. McCaul (R-Texas)
Randy Neugebauer (R-Texas)
Pete Olson (R-Texas)
Ron Paul (R-Texas)
Ted Poe (R-Texas)
Pete Sessions (R-Texas)
Lamar Smith (R-Texas)
Mac Thornberry (R-Texas)
Rob Bishop (R-Utah)
Jason Chaffetz (R-Utah)
Eric Cantor (R-Virginia)
Bob Goodlatte (R-Virginia)
J. Randy Forbes (R-Virginia)
Robert J. Wittman (R-Virginia)
Frank R. Wolf (R-Virginia)
Paul Ryan (R-Wisconsin)
F. James Sensenbrenner, Jr. (R-Wisconsin)
Cynthia M. Lummis (R-Wyoming)

In the coming weeks and months, Heritage Action will engage in grassroots advocacy to educate Members of Congress and their constituents about the problems with Obamacare. Heritage Action will target Members of Congress at home in their districts and in Washington, DC with paid issue advertisements, local grassroots activity, online activist tools and earned media.

With more than 680,000 members across the country, The Heritage Foundation and its sister organization, Heritage Action for America, are committed to building an America where freedom, opportunity, prosperity and a civil society flourishes. Obamacare hinders those objectives.

For more information on how we plan to repeal Obamacare, visit

Press Contact:
Dan Holler

Download a printable version of the press release.