Heritage Action Launches Digital Ad Campaign Opposing Democrats’ Healthcare Takeover, Commits $860K

Press Releases · Aug 24, 2021

WASHINGTON — Today, Heritage Action, a national grassroots conservative organization, launched an $860,000 digital ad campaign opposing Democrats’ attempt to take over American healthcare by including prescription drug tax hike language in the $3.5 trillion budget reconciliation package as a pay-for.

“Tucked into this multi-trillion-dollar tax and spending bill is an assault on our healthcare system, which will drive up the cost of medicine, eliminate drug options, and take away control from patients and doctors. The bottom line is that Democrats want to increase taxes on our prescription medicine to pay for their $3.5 trillion liberal wish list. Americans must tell Washington: Don’t tax our healthcare,” Jessica Anderson, executive director of Heritage Action, said.

The campaign includes an $860,000 digital ad buy targeted at seven senators: Arizona’s Mark Kelly and Krysten Sinema, West Virginia’s Joe Manchin, Georgia’s Jon Ossoff, and Raphael Warnock, Montana’s Jon Tester, and Pennsylvania’s Bob Casey. 23 House Democrats are also included in the target. Ad examples can be found here, here, and here.

“Your medicine helps you live your life, but Democrats want new taxes on prescription drugs. This means fewer new drugs and cures will be developed. Tell Washington: Don’t tax our healthcare,” the ad reads.

The drug-pricing language is drawn from H.R. 3, the Elijah E. Cummings Lower Drug Costs Now Act, which Heritage Action key voted against when it first came to the floor in 2019, saying:

“This ill-conceived legislation doubles down on ineffective policies and would ultimately limit access to life-saving medicines, stifle innovation, and increase spending in the long run. Once again, Democrats have abandoned market-based reforms and have opted to pursue harmful government price-setting proposals.”

The full list of targeted members of Congress include:

Sen. Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.)

Sen. Krysten Sinema (D-Ariz.)

Sen. Joe Manchin (D-W.V.)

Sen. Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.)

Sen. Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.)

Sen. Jon Tester (D-Mont.)

Sen. Bob Casey (D-Pa.)

Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux (D-Ga.)

Rep. Tom Malinowski (D-N.J.)

Rep. Chris Pappas (D-N.H.)

Rep. Jared Golden (D-Maine)

Rep. Sharice Davids (D-Kan.)

Rep. Elaine Luria (D-Va.)

Rep. Cindy Axne (D-Iowa)

Rep. Susie Lee (D-Nev.)

Rep. Haley Stevens (D-Mich.)

Rep. Andy Kim (D-N.J.)

Rep. Matt Cartwright (D-Pa.)

Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-Ariz.)

Rep. Ed Perlmutter (D-Colo.)

Rep. Lauren Underwood (D-Ill.)

Rep. Abigail Spanberger (D-Va.)

Rep. Elissa Slotkin (D-Mich.)

Rep. Josh Harder (D-Calif.)

Rep. Antonio Delgado (D-N.Y.)

Rep. Kim Schrier (D-Wash.)

Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-Ore.)

Rep. Lizzie Fletcher (D-Texas)

Rep. Susan Wild (D-Pa.)

Rep. Frank Pallone (D-N.J.)